[MoP] Theramore??! NOOOO!!!! =*(

…we find out a vague detail that some sort of unrelenting attack by the Horde on Theramore is to come…
Zarhym

I can’t say that I’ve ever really cared about Theramore the island, or Theramore the heavily fortified stronghold, or Theramore the seat of Jaina Proudmore’s power. I care about Dustwallow Marsh, the zone.

Something about that zone has always struck me as beautiful. The colors, the way the trees drape, the sounds, the muted tones. One of my earliest memories of World of Warcraft is discovering Dustwallow Marsh. I ran through this zone on my level 15 journey from Darkshore to Stormwind to meet my husband’s dwarf so we could quest together, and my view of Warcraft was changed forever.  Suddenly, Azeroth was a place of subtlety and beauty.  It’s hard to explain or quantify… there was just something about this zone that tugged at my mind and made me want to explore more of the world.

I remember the creatures, which were at least twice my level, chasing me down the road and taking me out. I made so many corpse runs as I desperately tried to flee to the safety of the docks. I promised myself I would return and quest in this zone no matter what. As you might suspect, I was highly disappointed to find out that, except for Theramore, Dustwallow Marsh was pretty much an empty zone. When Blizzard came back and revitalized Dustwallow Marsh in Patch 2.3, I was among the first people on my server to return and enjoy the new story lines.

When the Teleport:Theramore spell was introduced, the Mage alt I almost never play lined up at her trainer right away. Even now, I still look at that zone fondly and during the recent revision of my blog, Dustwallow Marsh was the obvious choice of location for the heading banner.

I suppose the future destruction of Theramore is only going to bring another revitalization to the zone. Perhaps players will have more exposure to Dustwallow Marsh in pvp related activities?

After seeing what happened to Azshara in the wake of recent Horde expansions, though, I am a little antsy. I can only hope the spirit of Dustwallow Marsh, the muted yet gorgeous colors and subtle textures, are left intact when the attack that helps to usher in Mists of Pandaria subsides.  But just in case, I think I need to make a special trip for screenshots.

Leave a Reply

