[4.1] Battle Rezzes for DKs & Warlocks, Changes to Efflorescence & Tranquility

Edit: Well, the latest build info was just posted and it includes more information on the Efflorecense and Tranquility changes I mentioned in this post.  Check out this post for the updated info from Build 13707.

Battle Rezzes

So there was this recent announcement…

Raise Ally has been redesigned to be a battle resurrection, analogous to Rebirth. It is instant cast, but costs 50 Runic Power to use, and has a 10-minute cooldown. It shares the same global battle resurrection cap with Rebirth and Soulstone.

- Patch Notes, 4.1 (http://us.battle.net/wow/en/blog/2356431)

And now we hear this…

Our plan is still to let Soulstones be used on dead targets, effectively giving warlocks a combat resurrection as well. Unlike the death knight one, which was a relatively straight forward change, the warlock one requires new code. We still plan on making this change for 4.1, but we will keep you updated.

- Zarhym (http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/2140450499#14)

Well, as the opening poster in the Warlock thread points out, Blizzard had been hinting at making Soulstone more like a “battle rez” for a while now, so this isn’t really “new.”   But when this didn’t happen at Cataclysm’s launch and Blizzard didn’t make any further mentions of it, I began to wonder if it really were going to happen.  Even when Blizzard announced the changes for Death Knights, I thought perhaps they had merely shifted the non-Druid battle rez to them instead…  But this change makes sense.  Three classes can provide Heroism…and now three classes will be able to provide a battle rez.

Efflorescence

Any Resto Druid currently on the PTR has probably noticed that Efflorescence is behaving oddly.  I’ve only had a few opportunities to check it out myself, but it’s seems to be acting as a smart heal.  Though originally assumed to be a bug, Blizzard has decided they like the effect and will be implementing it as a feature:

The change to Efflorescence becoming a smart heal was actually originally just a bug. Since so many of you responded so favorably to it though, we’re actually going to redesign Efflorescence to work similarly. We expect the redesign to help the talent be more useful in 5 and 10 player content as well. We’ll have more details at a later time.

-Bashiok (http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/2140510015#19)

I wonder if they’ll be making a similar change to a Priest’s Holy Word: Sanctuary?  Also, I’m not sure they’ll implement it in exactly the same fashion that Keeva describes, that seems a little too powerful to me based on what Blizzard has done so far to healing.  I have a feeling the overall healing on Efflorescence might be reduced, but, even if that happens, it will be an overall buff to the talent.  The question becomes, is it worth picking back up?  Will they unlink it from Living Seed?  If not, what 6 talent points should I (and others who are currently skipping Efflor) drop from my spec to snap it back up?

Tranquility

Gift of Nature (passive) also reduces Tranquility’s cooldown by 2.5/5 minutes.

- Patch Notes, 4.1 (http://us.battle.net/wow/en/blog/2356431)

As many people have already stated the wording for this makes little to no sense.  Currently, Gift of Nature is a passive “specialization” something we get automatically for choose the Restoration talent tree; it has no ranks, and thus the two step cooldown reduction doesn’t really work.  It is also not clear whether Tranquility’s base cooldown is being raised, which might mean something like Resto Druids can cast it every 8 minutes, but Ferals and Moonkin can only cast it every 13 minutes, or something like that.  The information is just so incomplete at this time.

Another possibility; will it be a 2 point talent?  We don’t really have room in our spec for any new talents, so if they go this route I think it’ll be attached Malfurion’s Gift, or maybe Naturalist. There really aren’t many other good 2 point talent options.  One option would be redesigning Living Seed and/or Efflorescence down to 2 point talents and attaching this Tranquility change to either of those.  It would make either talent much more desirable and free up a point or two for the other nice talents that many choose to sacrifice for Efflorescence.

Really, at this point, the only thing I can say about this tiny bit of information is that it hints to still further changes in the works for Restoration Druids in Patch 4.1.

…and that’s not evening including the Cooldowns that were promised us a few weeks back. Hold tight, fellow Druids!  Let’s see where this ride takes us. =)

3 thoughts on “[4.1] Battle Rezzes for DKs & Warlocks, Changes to Efflorescence & Tranquility

  1. “Also, I’m not sure they’ll implement it in exactly the same fashion that Keeva describes, that seems a little too powerful to me based on what Blizzard has done so far to healing. ”

    Why do you think it is too powerful? Could you elaborate? :)

  2. Well, don’t get me wrong, I would LOVE to keep the overall healing of Efflorescence as you described in your post… I would even spec back into it despite the 6 point cost if it did exactly what you described! I’d love to be able to use Swiftmend as an emergency heal on a tank AND know that my Efflor puddle is not wasted on the tank.

    I’m just afraid that Blizzard will look at that nice 4.5k tick (to use your numbers) and say “Too much healing! NERF!”

    To use my numbers…..my Swiftmend hits around the 17k mark. I haven’t included Efflor in my spec for a while now, so I can’t say from experience what my Efflor numbers are but, assuming 17k Swiftmend I should be looking at 5,100 ticks under your Efflor model.

    My Rejuvenation, despite the 7 points I’ve dumped into it (3/3 Imp Rejuv, 2/2 BotG, and 2/3 Genesis), current hits for around 4k a tick (World of Logs is giving me quite a range on my non-crit Rejuv ticks (Power Torrent procs maybe?), so I’m not really sure about this number).

    I’m not Blizzard, but with all the other various balance issues, I’m not going to expect a single tick of Efflor to do more healing than a single tick of Rejuvenation, even though they are very different spells. That just sounds a little too powerful to me.

    I just don’t want to get my hopes up to high and end up crashing back down to Earth. I’d rather be cautious with my expectations now and be pleasantly surprised later on. ^^*

  3. “Efflorescence now heals the three most injured targets within its effect for health equal to 4/8/12% of the amount healed by your Swiftmend for every 1 sec for 7 sec.”

Leave a Reply

